Rescuing Holly and Liam

IMG_2587

 

A Not so Traditional Adoption Story

As for most of us, 2020 has been a year that I will never forget. Covid-19 has impacted lives everywhere. 6 months ago if you told me I would have not one, but TWO dogs, and that Zoom workouts would be my new favourite thing, I would never have believed you. This global pandemic has been a lot of things, but for me it has quickly become confirmation that these dogs are meant to be safe with me at home. 

The day my mom passed away was berserk, and “the call” from the police and animal services was overwhelming to say the least. In one moment I was told that my mother has passed away, then just a few short minutes later I had animal services on the phone asking if I was going to keep her dogs (I just wanted to scream, “I JUST FOUND OUT THAT MY MOM HAS DIED,” but alas I did not.

Toronto animal services said the dogs would be in my name for 10 days before being surrendered to the City of Toronto (with a rate of 10$ per day each dog plus an impound fee).

I can’t explain how I went from “never in a million years” to wanting to keep them,  except that it was extremely spiritual. I started having dreams about the dogs, and I just felt unsettled that their future was at the fate of the city of Toronto (not to mention they are a bonded paid and I felt that they needed to stay together). 

My mom loved many things, but she was exceptionally fond of food and animals. She loved her dogs with her whole entire heart. Over the years she has had many dogs, cats, and even rats! As long as I have known her, she has always had pets. 

When I first started writing this post, I discovered an unopened LinkedIn message from my mom. She sent a picture of Holly (dog #1) with a rainbow prism reflecting on her fur. I’m not sure your view on spirituality, but to me rainbows are a promise of good things to come.

I’ve  gotten so many signs, wonders, and confirmations that taking these dogs in was the right thing to do.

name

It’s quite uncanny, as soon as my mom found out that she had a limited time on this planet, she asked me multiple times to take her dogs. Sadly, each time I said “I’m really sorry but I just can’t”. Since I couldn’t take them, she then stated that she wanted them euthanized. I spoke to her about other options, but she just wasn’t interested. She truly cared about her dogs more than anything else on this planet, and the only person she trusted them with, was me. 

I know she knows I have them, but I just wish I had the opportunity to tell her in person.

One of my fondest memories with my mom, is from the last time we got together downtown. With the little that she had, she bought them organic ground beef from the butcher in Kensington Market and got them cute t-shirts from one of the variety stores on Yonge Street. For someone who lived on ODSP, if that isn’t unconditional love, I don’t know what is. 

img_0803

I am someone who by nature operates with masculine “go, go, go” energy. My days are sometimes very long, and up until 2016, I lived abroad and was never in one place for long. Commitment and roots are not things I am very familiar with. I’m very much a lone wolf and a wanderer at heart. Having a dog (not to mention two), just never seemed like it was in the cards for me anytime soon. I truly had no intention of taking on these dogs, not because I didn’t want to help my mom, but because I was being realistic. 

Back to the animal services situation.

On the last possible day I begged and pleaded my case to my grandmother. She caved as and made the journey to Toronto Animal Services while I went running around for dog supplies. I knew I had to do this one thing for my mom, I needed to rescue her dogs and at the very least be aware of their outcome so her spirit would settle and my vivid dreams would cease.  

When we first got them, truthfully I didn’t think we’d be able to keep them at all. They howled and scratched and spewed feces on the walls at night (no joke). The first week I took them in I didn’t sleep through an entire night. They peed on my furniture, they got into absolutely everything, initially taking them in was a complete nightmare. The first night that I left them alone they had a “meltdown.” They tore my housecoat down from the the hook it was hanging on, ripping the screws right out of the wall along with it. They can probably vertically jump about 3ft because somehow they knocked down plants  on my window sill. They got into my room and knocked things down, they scraped the walls and the door. This coupled with their lack of house training was absolute chaos; not to mention their vet bills that have set me back immensely.Crate training 5-year-old dogs has also been quite the JOURNEY.

One night, Liam ATE his way out of his crate. That’s when I knew these dogs were very out of control, and it was going to take a miracle to be able to keep them any longer. Their vet bills were over 5k at this point, and the door and drywall costs were about $700+. Nothing was going “right.”

img_2147

 

In life it’s so easy to focus on what is going wrong. At the end of the day I firmly believe that we are here to spread POSITIVITY across the planet. This in turn has a trickle-down affect on others. Although it hasn’t been easy- I can now reflect and say that it has been such a blessing having these dogs. With COVID and the uncertainty in shelters, their outcome could’ve been really grim. The demand for stray dogs does not meet the supply— and sadly there is no space for unwanted animals.  I am so grateful that I made the decision to fight for keeping Holly Dolly and Prince Liam.

Everything has a lesson in it.

They have made my days brighter, and at some point in the last month, they have really settled down. They snuggle, nuzzle, and give more love than I have received in a LONG time. When Holly stops and stares the the birds gliding overhead, and when Liam hops on my lap while I’m working, I know that the chaos was worth it. 

Plain and simply put, when you take in rescue dogs, you can’t have the same expectations.

Processed with VSCO with a5 preset

Many people scowl at me when Liam barks uncontrollably. I wish they knew his story and his trauma. Holly and Liam were alone for 2 days without food or water with my mom after she passed and then their apartment door was kicked down by the police. They have experienced severe trauma, that no dogs should. They’ve been in the shelter a total of 3 times throughout their 5 short years.

The trauma these dogs have is heartbreaking, however, the love they show is immeasurable. Quite honestly I’ve re-learned how to nurture and how to give love back in return (something I often struggle with).

I didn’t know I needed them, but truthfully I can’t imagine my life without them.

The original intention was to get them more “adoptable,” but COVID-19 has made things more challenging, but also a lot more clear. I think in a sense that it was meant to happen this way. They were meant to be here and stay. Giving them a good life and caring for them in my mother’s honour has truly helped me to grieve in a healthy way. 

IMG_1849

I know this is a trying time for most people, but if you are unaffected and able to give, we still have the GoFundMe set up for those few people who are blessed with their jobs and still able to donate. Spending thousands was definitely not the plan, and their vet bills and the initial animal services fees have been astronomical.  Click here if you want to support Holly and Liam

Here is a list of what needed to be done/purchased:

-Holly and Liam needed to be neutered and spayed– the Humane Society was going to do this, then said they couldn’t because we don’t live in Toronto 

-Because they were at animal services for so long it was (approx) $400 for holding and adoption fees

-Rabies shots

-Flea treatments

-Micro Chips

-Bacterial cultures/Feces samples— (they had some infections)

-Trazodone pills to ease their anxiety (let me tell you, their separation anxiety is so real) (These ran from 40-80 each prescription. Thankfully we have weaned them off of these as they are not the best for them in the long-term, but initially they were vital to calm them at night

-General supplies (leashes, bags, a crate, carriers, food, bed, toys etc.)

-Holly had a UTI so we got her meds — it didn’t go away so she then required another culture sample (100$), which then required additional meds ($100) and a follow-up 

-Let me just re-emphasize that Liam ATE his way out of a brand-new$100 crate (When my Nan and I were watching Tiger King she commented that even the tigers were able to stay in their crates)

-These amounts do not include the damages to the house that will need to get repaired in the future

I am sure there is more I am forgetting- but trying not to focus on the bills too much.

Thank you for reading this far. I am going to use this blog as a memoir and a journal to look back upon in the future. 

Here is a photo from first week I had them. It makes my heart smile to see just how much they have improved since then. 

 

45335090_1581133441602119_r

 

Leave a comment